Despite a variety of sports facilities and gyms, people are less fit nowadays than ever before. What do you think are the main causes of this problem? What solutions can you suggest?

It is widely argued that although fitness facilities are widely available, people are getting less in shape over time. This is particularly affected by an unhealthy lifestyle, especially for younger generations, and it can be solved through implementing high-taxation for junk foods and sugary drinks.

The primary reason why people are less fit compared to before are related to the consumption of unhealthy food products. Since junk foods and sugary drinks are widely acessible and affordable, it is undeniably more tempting to consume unhealthy products compared to the healthier alternatives. Not only because the healthy options are relatively more expensive, but also because the fast food chains, such as burger king, are significantly more accessible. For example, in the US, the restaurants are dominated by ultra-processed foods, leaving people with only small amount of healthier alternatives. Moreover, matcha is gaining more popularity among teenagers. This makes young people are prone to over-consumption on sugary drinks, and it is mainly influenced by their friend groups who are doing the same thing. These reasons, therefore, caused reducing calories requires an extreme effort, and went to the gym seem as useless activities.

Therefore, on tackling this problem, government has to implement strict rules regarding, both taxation and food's regulations. By applying tax on unhealthy foods, it can reduce the buying power of public. Such programmes can be beneficial while combined with subsidising healthier alternatives. Moreover, government can implement strict regulations on food, so excessive sweet drinks or food as well as high-processed foods, should not be sold in the society. For instance, foods in Japan are widely known as one of the healthiest, it barely contains any processed ingredients. Therefore, the distribution of junk foods is restricted, and it can improve the quality of public's lifestyle in the long term.

In conclusion, people seemingly less in shape nowadays, regardless of the easy access to fitness centre, is because of the unhealthy lifestyle that is adapted by younger people, and this can be overcame by integrating taxation for junk foods and regulating healthier food distributions