The best way to provide enough homes in large cities is to build tall apartment blocks. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Building tall apartment blocks is the best way for the city to welcome more inhabitants. I totally agree with that statement. I think that it is better to build more apartments than build a family home that requires extending the area of a place, and also because it is cheaper to buy an apartment rather than a house.

Building flats requires less space than houses. If big metropolises want to create more houses to welcome new inhabitants, they will need more space, which can only be found in the periphery. Furthermore, building sky scraper allows more people to live than just building a house. For example, New York is the city of skyscrapers. The tall building allows more people in a small space. In consequence, it is easier to build a restaurant and facilities that are essential to daily life. Without these facilities, a big metropolis cannot welcome more population.

By creating apartments, big cities reach a larger scale of residents, because it is cheaper to allocate an apartment. For instance, big metropolises like London, which have a lot of universities, need to welcome students. To resolve the problem, they have to create cheap buildings because students cannot afford a house. Moreover, it is easier to allocate a condominium rather than an individual place. As a result, big capitals can provide, at the same time, more homes for tourists and for local inhabitants.

To conclude, the best way for cities to provide homes is by creating large condominium like sky scraper, allowing a large diversity of residents to live there. In my opinion, I strongly agree with that statement because as a student, I will need a flat in the city where I will work, and cities like New York can fulfil my need.