Some people say that in the digital age, theatres and cinemas are no longer important as people can watch all the entertainment they want online. Others argue that theatres and cinemas are still important both economically and culturally. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Since people are able to watch all the entertainment they want, such as videos or movies, online, some people claim that theatres and cinemas are no longer crucial in the technology-driven era. When others are convinced that theatres and cinemas still play an important role both economically and culturally. After analyzing the merits and drawbacks of the issue, I firmly believe that cinemas and movie theatres are still indispensible.

On one hand, in terms of the issue, the rapid development in internet and portable devices allows people to watch videos and performances whenever we want. The public can also access all the entertainment online at a very low cost. Hence, people have lower incentives to visit performance halls and cinemas because they can save not only time but also money when turning to watch videos online.

Nevertheless, cinemas own better equipment, such as a larger screen and a sound system with higher quality. Some people enjoy going to cinemas to immerse in the atmosphere created by movies. In addition, an increasing number of people turn to cinemas in recent days in my observation. They head to cinemas to watch musicals or comedies because they identify with the value and culture generated by the shows.

Apart from that, theatres and cinemas also play a vital role in people's connection. It's a place where people can reunite and gather together. For instance, most of my friends will hang out at theatres and cinemas to watch movies or performances after having exams. Watching performances and movies is the best way to unwind and decompress.

They also have a chance to have lunch or dinner before watching the shows, and share their comments after watching the shows, forming a closer connection between each others as a result.

To sum up, theatres and cinemas are still indispensable despite the rapid evolving technology, as it allows people to immerse in the atmosphere and serve as a reason for people to hang out and reunite. The theatres and cinemas also help to preserve lots of specific culture. As a result, the government and the public should support these performances by giving subsidies or simply going to watch the shows.