Some scientists recommend that formal education should start at the age of 4 or 5. In some countries it is recommended that formal education should start at 6 or7. Discuss and give your opinion.

Several scientists believe that children aged 4 or 5 should start formal education, while others feel that it should be started at 6 or 7. There are valid arguments on both sides, which I will discuss in my essay below.

On the one hand, proponents of starting at 4 or 5 argue that educational programs at these ages are substantial, since children's brains at these ages tend to be ready to absorb new information. This is believed because children are already able to speak properly and express their thoughts. For instance, many children in Indonesia attend kindergarten at the age of five, where they learn basic letters, numbers, and social skills through structured activities. Hence, they would understand what their teachers ask them to do. In addition, scientists have proven that early childhood is a crucial period for cognitive development, in which children easily remember lessons and will not forget materials in the long term.

On the other hand, it might be said that children aged 6 or 7 are more suitable for starting formal education because they are generally more prepared for the demands of school. They should have enough experience at home before joining school. This is related to the education systems that each country has, where some schools might implement a method in which students should convey what they have experienced in front of other students like presentation. Thus, they need more experience with their family in order to speak in front of the class.

In summary, some people believe that 6 to 7 is the perfect age for some reason. However, I personally feel that children aged 4 or 5 are imperative to maximise the development of children's brains through exposure to materials.