Some people think that advertising is a major factor in driving consumer demand. Others believe that consumers are becoming more immune to advertising. Discuss both views and give your opinion

Many people argue that advertising is a major contributing factor to consumer demand, while others opine that consumers are becoming less susceptible to such promotional methods. This essay will discuss both views, followed by my personal opinion.

To begin with, advertising can indeed heavily influence consumers ' purchasing patterns by introducing new products or services to them and creating product awareness. For instance, a smartphone advertised with more innovative features can prompt buyers to consider upgrading their phones, despite not needing to. Moreover, such promotional methods often include many alluring sounds, colours, and other visual elements, which encourage customers' impulsive decisions when buying the products. Studies have shown that advertising videos for items that contain vibrant hues and strategic editing are directly associated with a higher level of sales.

However, it has also been said that consumers are becoming less likely to fall victim to persuasive advertisements. This could be due to their abundance, as they can be seen everywhere nowadays, from billboards along the roads to local supermarkets. Therefore, people are constantly being exposed to them, to the point where they become less receptive to persuasive messages. In fact, psychology has proven that if one is consistently exposed to certain content, the likelihood of him or her being swayed by it can be reduced. Additionally, negative word-of-mouth can also impact individuals' decisions when buying a product, since it stems from real user experience, and is generally considered more reliable than companies' advertisements, which only focus on creating good publicity.

In conclusion, although consumers are becoming increasingly desensitised towards marketing tactics, advertising still remains an influential component in shaping purchasing decisions. Hence, I believe that its ability to create demand and have an effect on consumers ' preferences outweighs the growing immunity towards it. As a result, firms and businesses should continue using advertising strategically by adopting a more personalised approach and addressing specific customer needs and wants.