Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters (such as food, clothes and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In contrast to previous generations, children today are granted greater freedom in making everyday decisions, such as what they eat and wear. Although some argue that this trend may lead to selfishness in adulthood, I support this trend, and this essay will examine both perspectives.

On one hand, those who oppose children ’s autonomy in decision-making argue that granting young individuals unrestricted freedom could negatively affect social interactions. Childhood shapes individuals’ future lives since behaviors that become deeply ingrained during this period can be difficult to change later in life. Therefore, if they become accustomed to putting their own interests first, they may not only develop a self-centred attitude, but also show little consideration of others. Consequently, this tendency could have detrimental effects on social cohesion. For example, some studies revealed people who demonstrate poor collaborative skills in the workplace had been raised with unrestricted autonomy.

On the other hand, advocates of giving children the right to make personal choices contend that this freedom cultivates a profound sense of responsibility. When parents encourage children to choose their own food or clothing, they not only provide them with the opportunity to practice making responsible decisions in a safe environment under parents’ supervision, but also teach them to take on the accountability for their decisions and to encounter the natural consequences of their choices. For instance, when children opt for a certain snack, they must accept the outcome of their choice whether it results satisfaction or regret.

In conclusion, while granting unlimited autonomy to children could foster an excessive individualistic mindset, giving freedom within a structured framework can enhance the sense of responsibility in children. Ultimately, parents should strike a balance between empowering children with independency and setting reasonable boundaries to mitigate the potential negative consequences.