Some people think that young people should be required to receive full-time education until they are at least 18 years old. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There are debates about full-time education for the youth until they reach the age of 18. I partly agree with that statement, as education is an essential part of everyone’s life, especially when they are under 18. However, forcing young people to study in that routine can limit their freedom in their career path and it can be unsuitable for them to study in an academic way, due to their passion for more practical and professional skills.

Full-time education has many benefits for students in terms of better career opportunities. Students who study until 18 have enough knowledge for adult life. They improve their social and teamwork skills by being surrounded with different people. They get skilled for certain jobs by completing their secondary school education and getting to universities to obtain qualifications required for jobs, such as medicine, teaching or IT. For instance, people who stay in full-time education until 18, have more opportunities to get a skilled job and higher salaries in the future.

On the other hand, there are also some drawbacks for those students, for whom it is unsuitable to study because of financial issues. Long-term education requires a lot of money for students, especially for those who help their family by doing a bit of extra work. Moreover, this type of education can be inappropriate for students who love practical training and do not get used to traditional academic curriculum. Specifically, for those who want to become mechanics, it is more relevant to get experience on practices, instead of studying it a while.

In conclusion, the choice of studying in full-time education depends on the student's want of whom he want to be in the future and his family’s financial situation.