In the past, when students did a university degree, they tended to study in their own country. Nowadays, they have more opportunity to study abroad. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development? You should use your own ideas, knowledge and experience and support your arguments with examples and relevant evidence.

The pursuit of knowledge is a concept that is valued by most cultures. In the 21st century, we now have many more options on how and where to find that knowledge. If you are a French national, you can apply to do an economics degree in the USA, and likewise an American citizen can take a course in linguistics in France. Indeed, most universities across the world now have a lot of foreign students. Certainly, there are a lot of advantages of studying in a different country. Many students choose to do this because they know that some university, for instance, Havard Business School, is popular. Graduating from here, they believe, will increase their chances of getting a job in a company back home. Students studying abroad also have the chance to make friends with people of different nationalities: in time, these may develop into useful professional networks. Furthermore, living far from family and friends can allow young people to become more independent. Unfortunately, the experience of studying abroad is not always a positive one. Research suggests that a few young people cannot adapt to their new environment and suffer from severe culture shock. The situation can become worse if the student is not mature enough to deal with this by themselves. Different ways of teaching and learning may shock the students too. In conclusion, the key to a good experience at a foreign university is an open mind. If a student is presented with this opportunity, they should certainly seize it.