In some countries an average employee is legally obliged to retire at the age of 55 or 60, while in others, like Japan, people can work until they are physically and mentally fit to perform duties. what is the system prevailing in your country? until what age should people be allowed to countinue in salaried jobs. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge.

The retirement age differs from one country to another due to multiple social and governmental factors. Some nations have higher numbers of older individuals and a lower rate of birth whereas other nations have the opposite, with most of the nation being younger than thirty. Also, in some cultures, it is socially frowned upon to stop working or to be lazy. In this essay, I will the retirement laws in Saudi Arabia and I will give my opinion. 40 years ago, the population in Saudi Arabia was around 15 million citizens where two-thirds of the nation was under the age of thirty and the average birth rate was five children per family. Also, the life expectancy was around 65. It was expected that the population would have more younger individuals who would need jobs, so the age of retirement was set at the age of sixty or after thirty years of service and they would receive a full salary pension. Some jobs were an exception, such as, health-related occupations due to a shortage of staff who could file a request to postpone their retirement for more than five or ten years. Today, the life expectancy of an individual has increased in Saudi Arabia while the birth rate dropped and the cost of living increased. So, in forty years we will have an older nation with fewer young people. It will not be possible to give the older generation the same pensions their parents received in the past. For that reason, the government proposed plans to increase the age of retirement and change the pension system. To illustrate, today the retirement age is pushed back to forty years of service with possible extension if the individual was found to be physically and mentally fit. In conclusion, laws and regulations in each country should be implemented in a way to serves the citizens and adapts to the changes in the structure of their nation and retirement laws are no exception to this rule. Each era has different challenges and struggles that require some changes and adaptation.