Some people think that it is more effective for students to study in a group, while others believe that it is better for them to study alone. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is true that people have different opinions about the issue of whether it is better to study alone or in a group. While both views have strong justification, I personally think that these two approaches to studying can be combined successfully. On the one hand, there are two irrefutable arguments for studying in a group. Firstly, school and university curricula these days cover a lot of ground. It may be difficult to have a good grasp of the material, because class time is limited. Getting together with some of your fellow students at the end of a lesson or at the end of the day is an opportunity to discuss some of the information and the difficulties. The group helps each member to become an autonomous learner. Secondly, projects in class as a group encourages learners to be team players, and this is a good preparation for the challenges of adult life and work. On the other hand, studying alone is often essential. In terms of reading texts or researching materials, this can only be carried out individually through sifting information. Students learn to assimilate knowledge and to marshal facts by critically questioning those texts to achieve a deeper understanding. Then, from a wider perspective, students can bring their understanding to a study group for discussion with fellow students. Although this is best achieved in face-to-face learning, it can also be done through a virtual classroom, in the form of webinars or class conferences, in which the teacher can also participate with the group. In conclusion, while both views can be defended with sound arguments, the most effective approach in my opinion is to combine self-study with studying in a group.