Some people think that the government is wasting money on the arts and this money could be better spent elsewhere. To what extent do you agree with this view?

Some people see the government effort to promote the arts as a misuse of money which could be better invested in other sectors of society. However, this essay, disagreeing with this belief, is going to clarify the role of the arts in our society and explain why they deserve to be funded. Superficially, Art can be seen as an insignificant accessory in living. It is difficult for many to value art, especially If they compare it to other primary human needs such as alimentation and shelter. For example, a study shows that 85% of parents in the USA, believing that Art does not make a living, would be against their children pursuing a career in this field. In short, the arts are considered as futility only consumed by a tiny privileged elite. Despite the underestimation of the arts, they play a significant role in society. Human beings either create or obtain a work of art not only to decorate their spaces but also to gain some balance in their lives. By surrounding themselves of art, they try to avoid sadness. For instance, Imagine the World, with all its conflicts and wars, without any beautiful piece of art to compensate all crudeness we have been exposed. Indeed, life would be a tragedy in the absence of art. In conclusion, this essay argued that the view that the arts are not an asset in society is completely flawed. Humans need the beauty of art to strive. For this reason, the Governments, which are responsible for looking after their citizens' interests, must subsidise the arts to make them available to everybod all people everybody