Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taught to co-operate rather than compete become more useful adults. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

Some would argue that it is better to instill competiveness an aggressive willingness to compete competitiveness among children, while others say that it is more useful for children to co-operate with one another. While being competitive helps young people to improve themselves, I believe that moral traits acquired by co-operating with one another is far better. On the one hand, it is in human nature to try to be better than others, and being competitive helps people to improve their abilities. The world is a competitive place, whether it is sports, education or career, and the sooner the children learn to cope with such pressures of life the better they would fare in their future. For example, if a child has no motivation to improve himself, he would not bother to do score high in his exams. However, I believe that being competitive is not overly important, and sometimes it makes it difficult for children to work as a team when they grow up. On the other hand, it would be better for children to co-operate with each other because they acquire moral traits, like empathy and teamwork, which could only be learnt by working together. For instance, group studies are a great way for children to share information and motivate each other during exams. As a result, they would all help each other and perform well. I believe that this is a far better option because these are important characteristics to be a good human being. In conclusion, while competitiveness helps children improve themselves and perform better, the same results could be achieved if children worked with each other. Moreover, they would acquire additional qualities like empathy, kindness and teamwork which help make them better.