The internet has transformed the way information is shared and consumed, but it has also created problems that did not exist before. What are the most serious problems associated with the internet and what are the possible solutions?

The internet has changed the way we share and consume knowledge, but it has also led to numerous issues that were previously non-existent. The main problem this causes is that people prefer to interact with each other on the internet rather than face-to-face and the most viable solution is an awareness program to educate people about the dangers of isolation as a result. The principle issue with using the internet is that many people are interacting with each other using various online services and are drifting away from physical interactions. Nowadays, web portals provide many home services, such as laundry or grocery delivery, and people prefer to use them rather than doing these chores in person. As a result, their interactions with others are reduced and they isolate themselves from everybody. For example, a survey conducted by the American Food Association found that 50% of people preferred to order their groceries online rather than visit the local supermarket. To tackle the problem, the government should launch an awareness campaign in the media and schools warning them about the dangers of isolation. If people are made aware of of the mental issues caused by lack of physical contact, such as depression, they might try to change their habits and put in more efforts to interact with others. For instance, a similar initiative in Japan resulted in a 40% decrease in people feeling depressed because of isolation. In conclusion, using the internet lead to reduced interactions between people that can result in isolation and depression, however, it can be addressed by initiating an awareness campaign warning the people about its dangers.