Some people suggest that youngsters should follow the old people but others disagree. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Wisdom has always been passed down to us from older generations in the form of guidance. However, there is a considerable amount of debate on whether or not young people should follow their elders’ advice without objection. In this essay, I will elaborate on both sides of the argument, before justifying my own opinion on the statement. One of the most valuable things youngsters can receive from their older counterparts is their advice. Developments in the fields of science and technology have only been possible because of the strong intellectual foundation that was built by our ancestors. For instance, prehistoric man taught his children how to hunt, who in turn taught their children that friction produces fire, and so on. Therefore, the human race is what it is today only due to the continuous accumulation of our collective knowledge. It is evident that younger people are more impressionable, and it is quite possible that they are influenced by certain attractive but undesirable personality traits. So, it is absolutely essential for them to have an elder with more life experience to make sure that they are on the right path. For example, teens today experience a staggering amount of peer pressure and bullying, especially online. These incidents cannot be handled by them alone, and parental advice as support is definitely required. Hence, the guidance of our elders is invaluable. However, there are certain circumstances where it is not possible for youth to blindly follow the suggestions of older people. This is especially true while making important decisions related to education or career. During these situations, it is vital that they consider their own personalities and passions, rather than listen to others who may have contradicting views. Another important factor to consider is the vast degree to which certain practices and fields have changed. For example, if a young adult received advice from their parents about popular culture, social media or technological advancements, it would not be sound advice, because older people are not as experienced in these areas as those who are younger. So, it is not advisable for them to consider the opinions of those who do not have expertise in these fields. In conclusion, it is my opinion that while it is important to look up to our elders, their advice can be supportive in broader contexts, such as those regarding day-to-day practices, ethics and morality. However, it is vital for youngsters to formulate their own opinions, instead of following their elders without question. If this were the case, there would be no diversity in our thoughts or progression in our activities.