Many people try to look younger than their age. What are the reasons people do this? Do you think this is a good thing or a bad thing?

Nowdays, the latest procedure that seems to be trending majorly in countries is plastic surgery. People want to look younger than their actual age. This is predominant in the western countries and is slowly emerging in other countries as well. The very reason for this is the influence of social media. Many celebrities follow this practice to secure their image, which in turn is followed by youngsters or people who wish to imitate their idols. For instance, a recent survey concluded that many women who got silicon breast implants experienced severe health problems until they had them removed. Artifical implants of any kind inserted or injected in our bodies to make us look younger or beautiful have a lot of side effects that many are not aware of. Everyone wants to loo k youn g and a certain way because beauty or exterior appearance has become a major factor influencing people these days. This causes insecurity and hence induces folks to do things to look younger due to social pressures. I personally feel this is a really harmful practice. It portrays us in a way that we fail to recognize our ownselves. Any foreign object being inserted into our body or any procedure that is said to make us look younger is just a temporary fix and is infact causing more hazards to our health than we realise. Therefore its a myth that looking younger than our age is what appearance is about. Our ancestors aged gracefully and so are our parents. There is no benefit that we attain from trying to look younger. Time takes its toll on everyone and someday we would age. Accepting and loving ourselves as we are and ageing naturally is good.