Some people think that a good diet and exercise are not necessary for a health and long life. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Having a healthy lifestyle is trending nowadays. So many influencers a power to affect persons or events especially power based on prestige etc influences show their daily exercise and a good diet to encourage people to start having a healthy lifestyle. However, some people believe that it is just a trend, then we can still be healthy and have a long life without doing exercise of having a proper diet. This thought might be due to the condition of older generations who can have a long life without giving any effort and attention regarding healthy lifestyles. In this essay, I shall give some arguments about why this way of thinking is not applicable anymore for the current situation and generations. I believe both having a proper diet and routine exercise are essential for our health. To begin with, it is true that so many older generations are healthy and have a long life though they never do fitness or have a good diet as what celebrities do nowadays. However, we have to analyse deeply the reason why those lifestyles were not essential in the past. For example, 30 years ago, the level of air pollution was not as high as it is now. People can easily breathe clean air in past decades. Citizens nowadays, especially those who live in big cities, have to neutralise the pollution that is absorbed in their body by routinely drink the infused water, for instance, for the detoxification process. Secondly, older generations’ professions related to physical activity jobs, namely becoming a farmer, carpenter, and so on. They also have to walk miles away daily to reach their working place. Most workers nowadays commute by using their cars and sit on their chair all day long. Hence, they need to go to the gym unless they will be diagnosed with obesity in the near future. Third, older generations’ can easily get their fresh and healthy food from their garden. Most of the current generations live in the high-rise flats with no garden. They eat fast food and processed food as an alternative way for the limited land and time condition. This is the reason why people nowadays have to take care of their proper diet and make an effort to pick or prepare their food. In conclusion, it is true, there are some cases in which older generations are healthy and have a long life without doing the act that results in something coming to be making a healthy lifestyle. However, the current condition is totally different from it was in the past. Starting from the pollution, people’s sedentary lifestyle, and the consumption of processed food. Thus, I believe the current generations have to make time and effort to do the exercise and have a proper diet if they want to stay healthy and live longer.