Opinions on food are changing rapidly and there are many who believe that everyone chould follow a vegetarian diet because it would have a positive impact in our health and the environment. Do you agree or disagree?

People's outlooks toward food are shifting very quickly. Many argue that vegetarian diets should be followed universally due to their benefits for health and the environment. Whilst some may argue otherwise, their positive effects for both our and our planet's wellbeing must be stated. Firstly, opting for plant-based diets are positive for the environment because they reduce carbon dioxide emissions responsible for global warming. This is due to the fact that processing meat requires far more energy which is primarily produced by fossil fuels, like coal, that release significant amounts of carbon dioxide when burned. For instance, it takes a typical meat processing plant four times as much energy to produce a kilogram of meat than it takes a mill to get the same amount of corn. Thus, it is clear that a meat -based diet contributes far more toward global warming than a plant-based alternative. Moreover, vegetarian diets are more beneficial for our health and wellbeing as well. This is because many staples of a vegetarian diet do not increase cholesterol or blood pressure unlike most meat products. For example, a portion of cooked beef causes a spike in blood pressure almost immediately upon being consumed, whereas a portion of peas and carrots not only do not, but they even contribute toward reducing blood pressure thanks to their ability to clean veins. To sum up, even though some may deny the positive effects of vegetarianism for our health and environment, given its positive effects for heart and vein health as well as its contribution in slowing down global warming, it is vividly clear that plants are the far better option.