Increasing car usage in many large global cities has caused a number of problems. Some cities have proposed banning private vehicles from the city centre. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Owing to the hazards caused by the increased use of automobiles in the metropolis, it has been suggested by some that private cars should be prohibited from plying the cities. In my opinion, I agree that vehicles should be banned as its continued use causes environmental pollution and also road accidents. Firstly, the major reason cars must be banned from using the main roads is because of environmental pollution. As a result of high usage, there is an increased emission of CO2 to the atmosphere which leads to the warming of the earth. This climate change is very detrimental to humans as it could result in life threatening diseases and, therefore, shortening the life expectancy of human beings. For example, after the United States environmental law was enacted in 2015 to reduce car usage, there was a drastic reduction in terminal illness such as cancer and kidney failure as reported by the WHO. Another point to consider is that curbing car usage will reduce accident rates. Most private car owners are very poor drivers and are always prone to breaking traffic rules and, therefore, causing accidents. Therefore, banning their vehicle movements will help reduce the rate at which these harmful occurrences occur. For example, as reported by the road safety commission, the accident rates on Lagos-Ibadan expressway in 2016 dropped from 50% to 5% after the state government limited the use of cars on the road. To sum up, in order to preserve lives of humans and reduce accidents, it is highly necessary for cars to be banned from using major roads. It is recommended that the government enforce drivers to uphold all traffic laws at all times.