In the past, most people used to travel to their place of work. With increased use of computers, the internet and smart phone, more and more people are starting to work from home. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development? You should use your own ideas knowledge and experience, and support your arguments with examples and relevant evidence. Write at least 250 words.

Previously, people used to travel for their work. Now, with modern technology, the work mode has also evolved. This shift in paradigm was also exacerbated by the advent of Covid-19 when the work and meetings had to be shifted online. In my view, this is a positive step for both companies and workers. From the business perspective, there are two key benefits stemming from these flexible working arrangements. The first is a more productive workforce. Indeed, the recent isolation regulations of COVID-19 have proven beyond doubt that people can work even more efficiently and effectively from home. The office, it seems is actually a distractor many. The other advantage for a company is that working from home means employees can be recruited globally, not just within commuting distance from work. In other words, if a steller marketing manager lives on the other side of the world, and is the best fit for the role, then there is no reason not to hire him. For the workers themselves, the benefits abound. Chief among these is the ability to balance home and work life. Whereas, in the past, a typical working parent had to wake up early, prepare lunches, drive children to school, continue on to work, and put in the 8 to 10 hours in the office before returning home to cook dinner. Working from home reduces this load. A further plus is the flexibility the situation offers. This freedom not only improves the quality of their work, but of their life as well. IN conclusion, although not every job can be done from home, if it is possible, it can be extremely beneficial. Companies can reap the rewards in terms of productivity and quality staff, while workers are able to manage their time better.