Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people, however, think that other sorts of progress are equally important for a country. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

To start with, it is undeniable that growing the economy is a useful way to measure achievement. The main reason for this is that growth reflects a number of other factors, mainly productivity, which is also related to technological development. It is not merely an abstract number. A related point is that focusing on growth brings opportunity, and optimism to a country. In other words, a larger economy makes it easier to help those less fortunate, as budgets are higher and the better off are less concerned about sharing their wealth. Finally, as a simple number, GDP per capita is relatively easy to measure to focus on. This means it is easier to compare relative wealth and poverty within a nation, which in turn enables the governments to direct more resources to impoverished areas. On the other hand, there is no doubt that governments should also take into account other areas. Proponents of this view point out that there are numerous other aspects of life that can be measured and improved. These range from encouraging positive forms, such as literacy, education levels, and happiness, to the limiting the negative for example homelessness, suicide, obesity and pollution. It is noteworthy that nearly every international development organisation includes these measures (and many more) when they measure improvement and development. The World Bank and the the definite article the International Monetary Fund are cases in point. In conclusion, while there is no doubt that economic growth alone is a useful metric, it cannot be denied that other measures of progress should be considered. Therefore, I believe that focusing on growth alone is insufficient.