Some people think that governments should give financial support to artists, musicians and poets. Others think that it is a waste of money. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Governmental finance as a form of support for artists has evolved has a major topic of concern in modern society. While some believe there are real benefits of this policy, I would contend that that this is a waste of financial resources. There is a common belief that artists should be provided with financial support by the state. People may argue that some artists receive less money compared with they devote to society. For example, Nguyen Van Ty, a nationally-famous musician in Vietnam, lived a deprived life and died in poverty. Another significant reason for this belief is that once governmental budget on supporting artists is allowed, thousands of young artists would be stimulated to contribute more to the development of art. A clear example of this is that the 2005 governmental allowance for young photographers in Singapore acted as a precursor to an era that Singaporean photography took a giant leap to become a leading industry in the whole country’s entertainment industry. However, I am convinced that this type of governmental spending is worthless. The primary reason is that in today’s economy, artists can take care of themselves financially without the help of the government. With the aid of the Internet and digital technology, artists can now reach millions of people by publishing their artwork online. With this larger target audience, artists may easily find buyers of their artwork and therefore do not need financial assistance. Another significant reason why this is a waste of money is that there are better ways for the government to spend their budget for art. Investment in art education, for example, not only raises the public awareness of art but also makes people treasure art more. The result of this practice is that the public would willingly pay more for artwork, which is a more sustainable way to promote art, making providing artists with financial assistance a less cost effective and thus a money-wasting policy. To conclude, although the idea of giving artists financial assistance is worthwhile to some, I firmly believe that there are far more compelling reasons why this policy is a waste of money in today’s society.