8.I. In some countries, an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is thus necessary for the government to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. To what extent do you agree and disagree with this opinion?

Nowadays there is a growing tendency of health problems among the general people due to over-consumption of ready made junk foods. Some people believe that to tackle these health -related issues, the higher tax should be imposed on these foods by the government to make it costly. I think this is a wrong approach because this is not the only reason for health problems, and this may force people to find alternative ways which may prove equally harmful to our health. Firstly, the imposition of a tax upon fast food in an intention to reduce health issues, for example, obesity, tiredness, heart disease, will be proved ineffective as other factors are contributing to these health -related problems. In other words, apart from the negative impact of fast food, a person may also face health issues due to lack of proper physical exercise, having imbalanced diets or excessive body weight. As a result, restricting consumption of fast food by imposing increased tax alone is not sufficient to prevent health problems. The government needs to take a comprehensive step to tackle this problem. Another important consideration because of a higher tax on fast food is that it compels people to shift their choice to food alternative to the fast- food that is equally harmful as fast food. Even sometimes home-cooked food which is considered most hygienic and healthy is not produced in a way that is not as healthy and safe as it should be. For instance, I personally know a family who is accustomed to using excessive oil and condiments while cooking and take a large amount of red meat which is full of excessive fat in their everyday meal. As a result, all the members of the family are obese. Thus, it is clear that taxing fast food is not an effective option to curb health issues. To conclude, levy higher tax on fast food to discourage people from having such food is not a viable option to control obesity and other health -related problems.