An increasing number of schools provide tablets and laptop computers for students to use in school, replacing books and other printed materials like exams and assignments. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

Many schools today are offering devices such as laptops and tablets to do schoolworks instead of the traditional paper based homeworks or exams in a classroom setting. Some think that it has been a great help in terms of speed and comfort, but others see its drawbacks especially when it comes to mental health. These factors are to be discussed in this essay. On the one hand, a lot of individuals mention that this development has been a positive experience for them. This is because of the fact that they can make their assignments faster. Unlike before, for an instance, students tend to go to the library, search for books and scan a lot. Now, they can search in their laptops, through the use of internet, scholarly articles and journals for their researches. Furthermore, this setup allows them to submit paperworks without the hassle of going to the school and meeting with the professor; making it really convenient. Hence, this is why this is becoming a popular trend these days. On the other hand, some comments that this change has brought negative impacts on their lives. One would be its psychological effect which is lack of motivation. The study shows that students who do homeschooling through computers tend to be unmotivated and not finish a certain course. Students, however, who takes exam in a classroom setting gets more enthusiastic in preparing for it because of the thought that their professors will be there proctoring them. Thus, others prefer the old system than the new one. In conclusion, this trend has brought advantages such as speed and convenience to students, but it also came with problems which affects their motivation. Nonetheless, schools should be cautious in implementing these changes and be mindful of the pupils’ health and capabilities while learning in their institutions.