In some countries, young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

The time between finishing high school and starting tertiary education is crucial. In some countries, between the end of high school and starting of higher studies, youngsters are encouraged to work or travel. This essay will discuss the benefits and drawback of this approach. This trend has some positive outcomes. To begin with, by travelling, youngsters can experience the culture of another country, which would be beneficial when they stay there in future. Younger people would be aware of the lifestyle of the host country. This, in turn, would be important when they acquire education there. A study from the World Education System, for instance, showed that students who have stayed in a foreign country before enrolling in the tertiary education are highly likely to survive better. Furthermore, youngsters opting for employment may make them independent. This is because they would be financially stable and not reliant on others for their daily living expenses. On the other hand, this trend comes up with its downsides. Firstly, employment can deviate younger students from further studies. Earning money may bring in them the desire to earn only and this would develop the lack of interest in further learning. Secondly, they may lose interest in their own culture while travelling abroad. The new culture can attract them, thereby they would begin admiring the host country ’s culture, as well as stop pursuing their own traditions. Research by Oxford University, for example, revealed that Asian students after spending a year in a Western country, start praising the host nation’s culture and abandoning their own. In conclusion, although travelling and working in a gap year between high school and university learning has beneficial outcomes such as knowing another country ’s culture and making them financially self-reliance, hindering them from further education, as well as stop appreciating their own traditional values are negative outcomes.