Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists but not local people. Why is this the case? What can be done to attract more local people?

Many countries are witnessing the phenomenon whereby museums and historical places are able to attract mostly foreign tourists, not local people. In this essay, I will explore some possible reasons for this and the solutions that will encourage the local people to visit. To begin with, there are some reasons why tourists, instead of local residents, are usually attracted to these places. Firstly, tourists are thrilled at discovering the culture and history of the place they are paying a visit to, so museums and historical sites are obvious destinations. These places are able to provide materials such as videos and brochures which help visitors get a good grasp of the special value of those museums and historical places. Secondly, people usually need to pay an entrance fee to get inside these places, which often deters locals who cannot afford such fees even though they may be genuinely interested in visiting such historical places. Nevertheless, some measures can be implemented to attract more local people. For example, schools can arrange an annual visit to historical sites for their students to emphasize the importance of those places to the young generation. Furthermore, children should be educated to fully understand their local history and their responsibilities to protect those historical sites. Museum managers could also provide free tickets or souvenirs to local people. Moreover, utilizing technology to present the items in the museums so that they are exhibited in a more attractive fashion might be yet another effective method. In conclusion, museums and historical sites usually attract more foreigners than local citizens due to many reasons such as the high entry fees and the novelty factor, but effective solutions can be implemented to tackle this situation, such as organizing school trips to such places and using modern technology to attract more locals.