Some people say that arts subjects such as painting or drawing should not be made compulsory for high school students. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this day and age, the well-rounded development of children has been made the top priority, which concerns the necessity of artistic subjects such as painting and drawing. While some people would argue that these courses should not be made mandatory in secondary schools, others would oppose this argument. From my point of view, I completely agree with this statement, and the following essay is going to solidify my opinion. First and foremost, most high school pupils are not natural artists. This is due to the fact that in contrast with other fields, painting, and drawing require artistic abilities such as understanding the composition of a picture as well as choosing and blending suitable colour palettes to captivate the essence of the objects. Although these skills can be acquired through learning, nevertheless, it would take years and they will need to put in a lot of dedication to be considered that they have grasped the principle. For example, Vietnamese teenagers usually learn to draw simple objects such as an apple or a box, however, the duration of a class is rather short, so they can neither comprehend the principle needed to complete their pictures nor will they be able to finish them properly in only 45 minutes. Furthermore, pupils should be permitted to choose their courses. Simply put, schools have a variety of subjects for different fields, and pupils are not always interested in all of them. Thus, students should be able to pick subjects that suit their plans for the future, rather than be put in some classes against their own will. For instance, a student who is passionate about pursuing finance could choose mathematics and algebra, along with foreign languages, and they can learn foundational knowledge in schools so that they are prepared for further education. In conclusion, I believe art courses should be made optional for secondary school since most teenagers do not have the natural gift of putting their imagination into pictures, and students should be allowed to pursue what they love, rather than a fixed curriculum.