Some young people are leaving the countryside to live in cities and towns, leaving only old people in the countryside. What problems are caused by this issue? What can be done to solve this situation?

In the era of rampant globalisation, many are relocating from rural areas to urban places. This migration has led to a skewed population in villages, leaving very few young people to do farming and development work. Moreover, cities have become over-crowded and hence, their natural resources are depleting. Governments must come up with lucrative schemes and create industries in order to recall the citizens back to the countryside. The bling of city life with all its amenities and opportunities have always lured people from villages, especially the younger generation. This movement has not only caused an imbalance in the population in rural areas, but also hampered the agriculture sector as there are only a handful of young people left who are physically capable of carrying out farming. A study by Harvard University has cited that the population of developed cities of the world is increasing at a rate of nine percent annually. This has left people living in towns and cities fighting for survival because their natural resources like ground-water is reduced and air quality is becoming worse by the day. For instance, pollution in Delhi, as per latest government records has risen by an alarming eighteen percent in the last five years. One possible solution to move back the young people will be to bring technical industries like manufacturing and software to the countryside. By doing so, the government will provide for the highly-skilled labour and hence allowing them to stay in their villages. A survey by Facebook shows that people are willing to live in remote places if they have adequate jobs to earn their livelihood. Another way to lure people back would be to give subsidies for new businesses, and native industries. A prominent example of this is Switzerland, where the government gives huge start up money to set up milk based businesses in the countryside. To conclude, it is worrisome when a section of society has to leave their homes for a better life. Due to this migration, the countryside is left wanting for a younger population is capable of working and developing it. Countries need to develop the rural areas and provide communities with ample opportunities for work.