Some people say that the best way to improve public health is by increasing the number of sports facilities. Others, however, say that this would have little effect on public health and that other measures are required. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Improving the level of health of the general population is becoming increasingly necessary and there are different perspectives on how to achieve this. While some are of the view that it is best done by adding to the number of sports facilities, other people believe, which I agree, that there are other important factors that should be considered and these would be discussed below. One of the ways to achieve a healthier life is by engaging in exercises. In other words, having more sporting centres like a gymnasium and stadium would encourage people to engage more in physical activities thereby keeping the body fit. A recent research online has it that the more people are involved in physical activities like jogging and running, the better their overall health as harmful saturated fats and cholesterol are burnt in the process, which eventually leads to a healthier heart. Again, people who hold this view argue that if there are easy-to-reach local sport centres, exercise would be a regular part of life rather than living a sedentary lifestyle. On the other hand, there are more effective measures needed to improve the state of health of the masses. One of these is taking healthy meals; in fact, ensuring one eats a balanced diet with the correct proportion of protein, carbohydrates, vitamins and minerals cannot be over emphasized. For instance, the worrying trend of ailments such as cancer can be drastically reduced where the body cells are supplied with appropriate nutrients from the food we eat. In addition, the menace of obesity will become a thing of the past when people focus on less fatty meals. Furthermore, harmful habits such as smoking and excessive alcohol consumption, if reduced would substantially ward off many incurable sicknesses and mental conditions. In conclusion, I am strongly of the opinion that promoting healthy living through means like eating right and curbing harmful habits to mention a few, are more effective in ensuring a better public health as compared to adding more sports facilities. WORDS-334