Some people think that schools should select students according to their academic abilities, while others believe that it is better to have students with different abilities studying together. Discuss both views and state your own opinion.

Some people contend that the mixed ability classes are more beneficial for the child development than streaming them on the basis of the judgement about their academic abilities. However, from my perspective, I disagree with the contention. Admittedly, the mixed tendency lectures provide a better environment for the young one all-round development. In such classes, children with extraordinary abilities study together and in turn they can learn from one another. Let's look at an example, a student, who is good in academic study, but weak in dancing or the painting subject, she can learn how to dance or paint from her peers. In this sense, the multi program classes allow students to develop their skills in different coursework instead of only academic abilities. Despite the argument above, I believe streaming students bring more benefits to teachers and students. As for teachers, separating the children with better academic abilities from others facilitates effective teaching. This practice helps teachers to control their students more conveniently and easily. Compared with mixed ability in which teacher should consider students’ differences when they are using teaching methodologies, streaming makes this situation simpler. To be more specific, students are at the same level of academic ability in a class, and in turn teachers can use the same methodologies of them all. In this way, the narrower the spread of ability in the class, the more convenient the teaching can be. On top of this, steaming enables students to learn in an effective way. According to students’ different abilities, they are taught in different ways that are more suitable for them. In the top streams, students use more difficult materials, therefore, they can learn more. In sharp contrast, teachers can explain the material more slowly to those in bottom streams. Under this circumstance, students with different academic abilities can study effectively and efficiently. In the final analysis, mixed ability classes are beneficial for students’ versatile development, but in my opinion, segregating students based on different academic ability is better for both teachers and students.