Some parents buy their children a large number of toys to play with. What are the advantages and disadvantages for the child for having a larger number of toys?

A number of families purchase numerous toys for their wards to be engaged with. Although, this is advantageous in the sense that, it improves their cognitive abilities and helps keep them from becoming destructive, it however has a major demerit alongside which calls for attention One the one hand, one major benefit of buying enough playing materials for children is that these items help improve their memories. Most toys available nowadays, are designed such that the get the children thinking. Other times, the youngsters are found been quiet, thinking of how to unravel the puzzle before them and after a while, they arrive at a solution. A constant play with such materials helps these children to easily solve academic works that usually seem difficult. For instance, the survey done in Nigeria by the Children Foundation revealed that the best pupils in schools are those children who have abundant materials to play with in their homes. On the other hand, excessive engagement of young one with toys reduces the social skills of those children. In other words, because these youngsters spend their leisure times in playing with these toys, they eventually do not have time to bond with peers around. Occasionally, when these children are taken out to gatherings, they are usually found keeping to themselves and not wishing that anyone crosses their paths. Additionally, they are easily offended by people's even peers' attitudes, consequently, other children withdraw from them. When such character is not monitored and addressed, the children will grow to be unruly adults. In conclusion, admittedly, buying plenty toys for children to be playing with has many advantages, nevertheless, the major drawback which is deteriorated social life, needs to be put into great consideration.