Most societies are based on rules and laws. If individuals were free to do whatever they wanted, society could not function. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Can we play any game without a rulebook? Similarly can a country function without rules and regulations in place? Have you ever posed a question to yourself about what would your society look like in the absence of the boundaries laid by the rules? In my opinion, the importance of societal harmony outweighs the need for individual freedom and thus a society without laws cannot function efficiently. Primarily, for any country to be a fair and level playing ground for all its citizens, it is critical to lay down the fundamental outlines of law for the people to abide by. For instance, in the absence of a judiciary system, a crime committed by a rich person will never get the deserved punishment which will lead to the oppression of the victims of such crimes. Besides, when a particular locality or region is governed by a set of principles clearly defined in its constitution it aids the good image of that locality. A contrary argument to this view could be that in the modern world, freedom of thought, actions and speech is as much a basic necessity as food, clothing and shelter are. While I partially agree with this sentiment, the fact that such freedom also needs to be curated by the laws cannot be denied. To conclude, I would say, if our society is a garden then laws and regulations are its fences which protect the garden from unwanted interventions. Therefore, a society based on fair rules respecting the democracy of people is the ideal place to live in.