With the rise of e books comes the decline in paper books. Some people see this as a good step forward while others do not. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

The question of whether the surge in the use of soft- copy textbooks and the decrease of hard- copy books ought to be the future is multifaceted. While many advocate for this, because of the benefits such as being convenient and easy to use, others contend against it, as it has numerous demerits. In particular, the use of a device as a reading tool will lead to distractions. Analyzing this factuality will give a comprehensive overview of this subject matter. On the one hand, soft copy makes reading high-volume books easy, since one can move around with compact versions without carrying around bulk paper. For example, the only reason I could have studied with a Cambridge ielts textbook from volumes one to eighteen was because it was on my phone, so I could comfortably travel or go to work with it. Unfortunately, having a paper copy of such a voluminous book will be difficult to study. Therefore, this is one of the reasons having an e-book version is a merit. On the other hand, using phones to study will distract the reader's attention to the internet as we have many pop-up ads nowadays. For instance, the survey from my recently concluded capstone project shows that 90% of postgraduate students in Cambrian College were distracted by a pop-up advert on their phone while reading. Clearly, such issues would not arise if they studied with paper books. Thus, one of the reasons why studying with soft copy textbooks is a drawback. In conclusion, the issue of whether using soft copy books rather than hard copy is the way forward has sparked a considerable debate. Some people champion this as a positive development because of the easy access or convenience, whereas others contend against it because it ends up taking the reader's mind away from their main goal. Examining these facts gave an in-depth understanding of this topic.