In many cities, young people prefer shopping as a form of leisure activity. Why do you think this happens? Is it a positive or negative development.

Most youngsters submit shopping as a pastime activity. Personally, I believe this happens due to the lack of after school clubs, which encourage teenagers to improve certain skills. This essay will discuss why the negative aspect overweigh positive. Shopping provides people emotional and objective needs. So it can be preferred as a leisure time. A Few decades ago, shopping was the most pleasurable hobby for women. But now, most juveniles find it attractive and prefer it as a form of spending spare time. According to the fact that most cities do not have enough extra-curricular clubs that offer young people spend their time doing what they are interested in. Although there are some, they have not developed yet to attract teenagers. For instance, in my country there are less attractive places and after school classes. Furthermore, youngsters go shopping to refill their energy and feel relaxed. As far as I am concerned, this is a negative development. Firstly, most teenagers are not yet employed. They use pocket money that their parents gave them. In fact, shopping demands lots of money. It will be absurd to spend money on unnecessary things. Secondly, more hobbies will be distinct after 10 years old. If shopping is considered to be one of the leisure activities, such as knitting and gardening would be forgotten. To sum up, this development has more disadvantages than advantages. In conclusion, preferring shopping as a pastime has a detrimental effect on the individual teenagers. Nonetheless, the factor that develops this phenomenon is not the juveniles, but teenagers should be doing shopping less and instead they should seek for other hobbies.