At the present time, the population of some countries includes a relatively large number of young adults, compared with the number of older people. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent times, a large number of countries have increased the population of youths than they did the elderly. I believe this will improve the technological advancement of the country, which will in turn boost economic development and it is more than any drawback that may be considered. Despite the demerits mentioned below, I think technology will advance greatly if the young ones are more in a nation. Firstly, the youngsters are able to use computer gadgets adequately and they can surf the internet to get any information needed. Secondly, the young adults, usually, have excellent critical thinking abilities, which will enable them to manage difficult situations that may arise. They carry out tasks with minimal supervision and can bring a contract deal to a close in record time. Lastly, the economy of the nation will experience a boost because the workers are fresh and agile. For example, the Chief executive officer of Globacom telecommunication network, Chief Mike Adenuga, who is 92 years old, when he handed over his company to his son, Mike Adenuga junior, who is 44 years old, the company experienced a great increase in their profit margin. Admittedly, there are some basic drawbacks that can be seen when there are few senior citizens in a country. One problem is that there might be increased in crime. In other words, the rate of criminal activities would be high because there are no elders to counsel or channel the energy of the youngsters to a more productive one. This could be detrimental to the country in the long run. Another negative aspect, is that the history and culture of the nation would go into extinction. This is because there would not be anyone to pass down the cultural heritage to the next generation, who are supposed to be the elders in the future. For example, the people of Abada village, in Delta State, Nigeria, have lost the technique of healing people with fracture using local herbs because the youths have all left the countryside to the city for greener pastures. In conclusion, the benefit that the advancement in technology and the economy boost a country will gain if there are more young people residing there far outweighs any downside that nation may face as a result of fewer senior citizens.