Some of the methods used in advertising are unethical and unacceptable in today's society. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Publicity plays a vital role in building a reputation of the company or a product. As we are aware advertisement has a direct implication on a consumer choice, however, it is argued that some practices of advertising used, can be unacceptable. In my essay I will share my views on the same. Moreover, we see a huge amount of money spend on publicity. The marketing of products is a gimmick. Where sometimes in order to gain more publicity the products are showcased wrongly.For examples some sports stars promote high content of sugar drinks which can be detrimental for health. In addition, the huge amount of money spent on advertising can only be afforded by the big companies, who generally have an extensive budget kept aside for marketing, whereas smaller companies cannot afford such expenses. This leads in building a monopoly of the commodity in the market, which has negative implications for the society. Although, advertising helps in generating income, it also helps in educating the consumer on the products available in the market. Publicity done of products by big celebrities can increase the sales of the commodity and also increase its market share. This also helps in providing employment and generating huge revenues for the society. In addition, with the help of advertising the consumer will be able to make a choice to buy the product. In conclusion, advertising plays an important role and it is the responsibility to project the right product for the benefit of the consumers. The government should put strict laws in place to avoid any unethical and unacceptable methods used to gain publicity.