Some people believe that people have the right to university education, and government should make it free no matter what their financial background. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Over recent years, more and more residents have attended university and argument have persisted as to whether students should pay for this privilege or not. While there is convincing debate on both sides, I strongly believe that this tuition fee should be free. One argument put forward charging students is that education is becoming more costly as universities in major cities grow in size. Therefor, making students pay may maintain the standard as well as ensure quality of teaching of lecturers and teaching staff. Secondly, it is argued that most students should benefit significantly from universities in terms of higher paid jobs and lucrative income after graduating. Thus, it is quite fair for students to pay some of the cost, especially for the majority of students from the middle classes. Last but not least, in many countries, there is a shortage of people to do manual jobs such as plumbing or carpentry; hence, making universities more expensive may encourage disadvantaged people to take up these jobs, and in the long run there will be a productive workforce with hands-on skills. However, there are a number of controversies in favour of making universities free for all. The first prominent justification is that, more citizens will be encouraged to become university students, which benefits the society greatly. This can be easily understood due to the facts that knowledge will lead to a more productive and educated workforce. For instant, research has shown that the country with better education via universities can achieve higher levels of innovation and productivity. Furthermore, there is the issue of equality of opportunity for everyone. If the students are required to pay, those with low income may be dissuaded from attending in view of the facts they will not be able to secure financial support from their family and more importantly they will be concerned about the debts incurred in the future. In conclusion, while reasons can be given to justify that students should pay the school fee, I am of the opinion that all university education should remain equally available to all individuals regardless of their financial status.