It is often said, "When in Rome, do as Romans do." Do you think people should adapt and accept the culture of the country that they are visiting? Do you think it is possible to learn a culture without learning the language?

A common saying, "When in Rome, do as the Romans do," illustrates the need to merge within a foreign community, when in a foreign land. In my opinion, it is very vital for an individual to be respectful and acceptive of the traditional values of the place, they visit and it will be implausible to appreciate the true essence of an alien land, without the knowledge of the language. For most people, migrating to a new country because of better educational and employment opportunities, the greatest stress is due to the cultural shock. In other words, developing an appreciation for the tradition and history of a place can alleviate a significant percentage of stress, that comes with relocation. For instance, a recent study published by the UN, studied the immigrant population worldwide and reported that almost three-fifths of the people who felt insecure in a new land, lacked a sense of appreciation and adaptability to the new culture. Even though some people may hold the belief that it is plausible to be aware of a new culture without knowing the language, I'm of the opinion that the essence of the culture lies in the language. Also, without this, it may not be possible to fully decipher the vast cultural history of the place. For example, French is spoken in several European countries, but the manner in which it is spoken varies among the nations. Hence, for somebody who is alien to French, it may be difficult to comprehend the cultures. To conclude, I believe in the saying, "When in Rome, do as Romans do." As far as I'm concerned, to truly appreciate the benefits of a visit to a foreign territory, it is essential that a person spends enough time to learn the language. Moreover, one has to be open about accepting and adapting to the new cultures.