Some people believe public libraries are not important for people, others disagree about this statement. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

People’s opinion towards public libraries is various. Some people perceive that public libraries play a crucial role in the society while others disagree. In this essay, I shall discuss both perspective in detail before reaching a final verdict that the library is essential for the public. There are various compelling reasons why it is significant to have public libraries in the public and the prominent one is that the existence of the public library is beneficial for people’s personal development as it enables people to access a wide range of knowledge and information more easily and effectively, which could expand the scope of knowledge and reward them later on in the future. For instance, a recent survey conducted in Japan has revealed that nearly 80% of the students in the university hold the view that having access to the public library is critical. Therefore, public libraries have a profound impact on us. However, some oppose this notion and says that the society could be adversely affected by public libraries because there are various recreational books, such as comic books and magazines in the library that can provide a huge distraction to the youngsters who lack of restraints then waste their precious time. Take myself for example, I used to spend an excessive amount of time on reading notions in the public library when I was a high school student. As a result, it could generate some detrimental implications for the younger generation. To sum up, it is still debatable that if public libraries are significant for people. Taking everything into consideration, I’m inclined to say that it is crucial for us to have libraries in the public even though there are a few potential and minor drawbacks associated with them.