Telemedicine has seen a significant rise in usage, especially in remote areas. What are the advantages and disadvantages of telemedicine?

Nowadays, more and more individuals tend to use telemedicine to ask doctors to diagnose their discomfort with their bodies, especially those who live in remote regions. In this essay, I will discuss both the benefits and drawbacks of telemedicine. First and foremost, there are many merits to telemedicine. In a fast-paced society, people are always busy with their daily lives and work and ignore their health; they do not have enough time to take care of their bodies. Telemedicine is the most useful method to solve the problem because people do not need to go to the hospital; it will not take them too long to inquire about doctors online. Moreover, for most people, going to the hospital to ask for help from doctors costs a lot of money. Telemedicine does not involve many examination reports, which helps them save money. Additionally, some famous doctors are difficult to reserve; using telemedicine, let those doctors have access. Patients could contact famous doctors more easily than go to hospitals. Even though telemedicine provides convenience, there are also some challenges. Firstly, asking doctors online cannot ensure the quality of care. Using online services, the doctors cannot examine the bodies of patients exactly; some misunderstandings lead to misdiagnosis, which not only does not cure the patients but may cause serious consequences. Obviously, telemedicine restricts physical examinations, so doctors cannot use accurate scientific medical machinery to get reference reports from patients to support their diagnoses. Furthermore, a lack of personal touch does not improve the effectiveness of communication between doctors and patients. In conclusion, telemedicine is a convenient method for patients because it provides convenience and saves on medical expenses; it also makes it easier for common people to contact a famous doctor. However, since there is a lack of personal touch and scientific assistance, telemedicine cannot ensure the quality of care and also has some hidden dangers.