Some people think that parents should teach children how to be good members of society. Others, however, believe that school is the place to learn this. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There is no doubt that every parent wants their kids to grow up to become a good citizen. However, the responsibility of teaching the children has been subjected to lots of debate over the years. Some people think that teachers should play the major role in guiding the children while others argue that parents are more suitable for such an important role. In this essay, I will discuss both sides of the view and present by opinion accordingly. Since most children spent a large number of hours in school on a daily basis, we expect the school to provide them with a good learning environment. On a typical school day, children attend classes, participate in sports and interact with their friends. All these activities can be used as a tool to teach children the necessary skills so that they could become a better person. For example, they can be taught the importance of discipline, teamwork and punctuality when doing a group project. Therefore, school should be the best place for children to develop all the good behaviours. However, I believe that it will be more efficient and effective for the parents to teach their own children because of the amount of time they spent together especially during the weekends and summer holidays. Parents should be responsible to ensure that their kids are growing up in a healthy environment and developing the proper correct attitudes. Moreover, it is quite easy for the parents to identify and correct any unwanted behaviour of the children. In conclusion, parents must take the lead in teaching their own children while the school must also play its supporting role.