Some university students want to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others believe that it is more important to give all their time and attention to studying for a qualification. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

It is claimed by some college students that they prefer to study additional courses apart from the core ones while others disagree and think that they should dedicate their time and effort to attend only the subjects in their major. In this essay, I will agree with the government's statement and discuss reasons to support my perspectives. It is undeniable that in order to achieve a degree qualification, core courses should be mainly focused. The university not only already designed all the required branches of knowledge, but also determined which ones should be studied each year throughout their university program. For instance, the advanced courses will require prerequisites due to the need for fundamental understanding. Therefore, if they did not spend all of their time to complete and excel in these classes, it will be a roadblock for them during their senior year. However, it is also significant for the scholar to be able to choose electives per their own preferences. Since they all have different interests and future career paths, part of their studying time should contain free elective subjects, which could be from within the same or distinct faculties. For example, a person who took an engineering degree whose general studies only consist of physics and chemical-related material might also have a passion for the business world as they would like to understand the big picture of the industry. It would be beneficial to them if they could have spare time from their main studies and be able to attend business lectures as an optional choice. In conclusion, all learners should prioritise and focus on the major classes in each degree, yet they do have different secondary passions, professions and career maps. Therefore, I believe that it is vital for them to have the right to choose to attend additional courses.