In the future, it may be scientifically possible for people to live for 150 years. This could be good for individuals but it may have negative consequences for society. What are the benefits and risks of people living to 150

Science has improved many aspects of our lives and may create opportunity for people to live to advanced age in the future. Although this might be beneficial to individuals, but may have negative impacts on the society. This essay will outline the advantages and risks of living up to 150 years. One major benefit of living to a longer year is that it offers individuals the opportunity to spend more times with their loved ones. In other words, people could have more happy periods to enjoy with family and friends and experience more good things. For instance, at hundred and fifty years, many individuals would have brought about 2 to 3 generations, thus, have lived to see their great grandchildren. Another advantage of living longer is that it gives people time to contribute more to the state. This could be seen in professionals like doctors, teachers and musicians. For example, if Michael Jackson had lived longer, he might have produced more interesting songs. However, the disadvantages of living to one hundred and fifty years should not be overlooked. One serious negative effect is overcrowding and its consequences. This means that due to increase in population, great number of people would live together, thus, increasing the risk of contagious diseases such as tuberculosis. Additionally, there would be much pressure on the welfare system, which means that the government would struggle to care for the older generations in terms of paying pensions, and the few working adults would be taxed heavily. Finally, being too old comes with poor health as the body systems would progressively deteriorate. Consequently, in order to care for them, these elderly would remain liabilities in their families and the community as a whole. In conclusion, living to a very old age has some clear benefits to both individuals and society, yet also brings risks such as overcrowding, pressure on social welfare and stress. Therefore, thriving to such a number of years is more of a liability than assets.