Many people believe that the increasing number of cars in cities is the biggest source of pollution and waste. Others think that industries are the ones causing pollution. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In the recent decades, cities, especially metropolises, have faced more pollution than ever before. As a result, a controversy has arisen over what is the primary reason behind this predicament. While some people attribute it to the marked increase of cars, others would contend that the chief among all causes is industrial activities, which from my perspective, the latter is more accurate. Although cars, undoubtedly, cause a detrimental effect on the urban environment, the catastrophe industrialism brings in its wake is much more disturbing. Emitting harmful gases to air, cars have always been considered as a danger to cities. The gravity of this problem, nonetheless, has been alleviated thanks to significant alterations. Electric cars are going into publicity as a substitute for conventional pollutant cars. Government, furthermore, is determined to take an environmentally friendly approach by allocating more expenditure of public transportation, which culminate in a decline in the number of cars. Hence, the side effects of overusing cars are going to be marginal in the foreseeable future. In stark contrast, never have been urban districts experienced such industrial growth in the history. Modern lifestyle which consumerism plays a major role in, leads to a marked boost in the construction of factories, with the aim of providing a wide range of multi-coloured products for consumer society. Having occupied the suburbs, factories are likely to encroach into the heart of cities in the future. If it happens, cities’ degradation will occur. Unfortunately, not only does this damage ruin cities, but it also brings long-term consequences to ecosystem in the shape of global warming and extinction of species. By way of conclusion, both cars and factories are culprit for cities’ pollution. Industrial issue, however, is the pivot in which the catastrophe turns.