Some countries are struggling with an increase in the rate of crime. Many people think that having more police on the streets is the only way to reduce crime. To what extent do you agree?

The rise in criminal activity has been bothering some nations. Some people argue that putting an increased number of law enforcement agencies on the roads is the most effective solution in reducing crime. In my opinion, I agree that cops are the key to control such exercises. However, closed-circuit television cameras are important too. Cops are essential to maintain discipline in the community. They use various strategies and methods to combat gangsters. Their presence on the streets gives pedestrians a feeling of safety. To illustrate, a study published by Columbia University shows the decline in the rate of violent activities in New York City in the years between 1990 through 1998 after the police force was doubled. For these reasons, more patrolling is necessary in areas where there are increased illegal activities. CCTV cameras are like the eyes of policemen. They instill a sense of fear in people, who are going to perform a wrong activity, of getting caught and going to jail. These are used to reduce violence and catch lawbreakers by identifying their face and linking it to national database. For example, a study done at Harvard University shows that illegal acts decreased by 24-28 percent at train stations after cameras were installed. Therefore, surveillance footage helps a great deal in reducing crime. In conclusion, some states are worried by the growth in criminality. It is argued by most people that having more police force patrol is the best choice in decreasing wrongdoings. In my opinion, although law enforcement agencies play a vital role in reducing crime, but, however, other measures such as installing surveillance cameras on the streets is significant too.