It is a common practice for some students to take a gap year between high school and university in order to do charitable work abroad in underdeveloped countries. what are the advantages and disadvantages of doing volunteer work for young people?

These days high school students tend to take a break after their school year and engage themselves in charity work particularly in underdeveloped countries. Although they gain a different experience in terms of culture and lifestyle in another country, there are some drawbacks to this trend. The main disadvantage of doing volunteering in developing countries is an increased chance of falling sick. Some eradicated diseases in fully developed nations might still be prevalent in these unfortunate countries. In spite of taking appropriate vaccination before travelling, there is no guarantee that they will not catch any infection and fall ill. Another important drawback is the lack of adequate facilities.Communication and transport in these underdeveloped nations might be poor or not technologically advanced. Therefore, overseas communication with friends and family might become less frequent. If transport services such as cab and bus or limited, it can cause distress and unnecessary frustration among the youth. On the bright side, the journey to the underdeveloped countries specifically for doing charity work can be considered as a service. They get an opportunity to learn how to be compassionate and caring for fellow humans. For example, helping the survivors of an earthquake or other natural calamities and working in the construction of a rural hospital can teach them how fortunate they are and how to better serve their home country. To summarise, some of the advantages of high school students doing voluntary work in underdeveloped countries include exposure to a different culture and environment with a chance to learn crucial life lessons such as compassion and good citizenship. Whereas, frustration due to unavailability of adequate facilities and an increased chance of getting sick is considered as some drawbacks.