These days, we are seeing an increasing amount of violence on television and this is having negative impact on children's behaviour. Do you agree or disagree?

There has been an increase in violence featured in the mass media in recent times. It is argued by some people that this trend has detrimental effects on the way young ones behave. I agreed with this view, as violence promotes bullying and it desensitizes children's view of crime. First of all, the rampart violence on the television encourages youngsters to bully others. Violent movies promote the belief that a person needs to out power other people with force in order to success. For example, action movies such as Delta Force make children think that they can threaten or even kill their colleagues with guns. As a result, some youngsters imitate what they see on the screen and become bullies and a threat in schools. Furthermore, many young ones are attracted to crime because of the violence they watch on the mass media. This occurs owing to the fact that the major characters in the violent movies they watch, play the role of a criminal, which makes them love those roles. For instance, a recent Child Psychological report in the United Kingdom linked the surge in juvenile shop lifting the act of stealing goods that are on display in a store shoplifting and knife attacks to the violence featured on the television. Therefore, if there have been a reduction in the violence on the television, there would have been a significant decline in juvenile crime in many societies. In conclusion, while there has been a rise in violence shown in the mass media, this has resulted in deleterious effects on children's behaviour, as many young ones are motivated to bully others and view crime as normal today. Efforts geared toward educating parents about this harmful consequence should be promoted.