Some people claim that not enough of wastes from homes are recycled. They believe that the only way to increase recycling is for government to make it a legal requirement. To what extent do you believe that laws are needed to make people recycle more of their wastes.

The awareness on recycling is increasing in many countries around the world. Whilst some are of the view that households are not doing enough to recycle their waste and that government legislation would be the best option. In my opinion, I believe that such laws are needed l, but exploring other means to ensure compliance should be looked into. On the one hand, the law would make it compulsory for regenerated by-product to be recycled. That is, domestic by-products are not disposed, but re-used in another way, and any disobedience to such rules would attract a penalty. However, since man would not want to be punished, they are bound by obligation to obey thereby ensuring that they play their part to make the environment safe. In Zimbabwe, for instance, the proportion of people recycling their trash increased by 16% after the senate passed a law to enforce household on waste regeneration. On the other hand, public education is more encompassing. When a considerable amount of energy is channeled towards public enlightenment, with the sole aim of making the people know the benefits of recycling, then more households are likely to join in the campaign. This is particularly important because recycling is one of the methods used to reduce the global warming because it reduces the amount of carbon dioxide released into the atmosphere. Furthermore, incentives can also be employed. In other words, when citizens get certain rewards for turning their organic matters into useful products, it does not only encourage them to do more but they also enable others to do the same. The Sun Newspaper revealed that an average home in Pretoria recycles majority of their waste. This is because, every home that does this get some tax waver from the government. Hence, making it the city with the highest household recycling methods. In conclusion, the law would enforce homes to do the needful by recycling wastes which is basically out of obligation and not with a sense of responsibility. It is also important that we make people see the part they need to play and induce them where necessary. Only then are we going to see a dramatic change.