Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters (such as food, clothes and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that is it important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

While some people are of the opinion that, children should be encouraged to decide about things that concern them, others claim that such a strategy would result in a community of self-centred people. In my opinion, children should be given freedom to make their own decisions about matters concerning them. We will discuss both these views, in this essay. Asking for a child's views and encouraging the child to make decisions, will aid in the overall development of the child's critical thinking and cognitive abilities. Besides, it will also boost the self-esteem of the individual. For example, a report published by the American Psychiatrists' Association, claims that, people who were given the liberty to choose their own toys, when they were young were more self-assured and confident, in their adulthood, compared to their counterparts, who weren't encouraged to formulate opinions of their own. Hence, I believe that it is extremely crucial that kids learn how to make their own decisions. On the other hand, some people are of the view that, individuals, who are taught to decide about things, from their childhood, will lack empathy, as they grow up. For instance, kids without the luxury of several options tend to be more compassionate. Moreover, they tend to exhibit a better understanding of others' issues, as well. Although, the argument is partly true, I believe that kindness should be taught to kids, at home and at school. Only then, will they be a valuable asset to our society, in the future. In conclusion, though the opinions about letting children decide on matters concerning them may largely vary, I believe that young children should be allowed to make decisions, of their own. In the future, that will make our society be governed by self-assured individuals.