Due to the rapid development and expansion of supermarkets in some countries many small, local businesses are unable to compete. Some people think that the closure of local businesses will bring about the death of local communities.To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It’s true that the retail market penetration is better with supermarkets and they do not even allow the local shops to compete with them. I believe, in the near future, we will miss the traditional touch of local communities in our everyday commodities. To begin with, Customer acquisition plays a vital role in the development of a growing business. Goods and services reach is more efficient for supermarkets compared to local shops through discounts and offers. Cashbacks, digital order placements and free home delivery are very impactful business strategies which are able to attract all segments of the society, however local shops fail to do so. They ensure the entire experience of the buyer is seamless while enjoying offers. Many supermarkets, such as Nilgiris, Godrej Naturals, M.K.Ahmed, the freshco a mural done with watercolors on wet plaster fresco has invested in advanced technologies and have expanded across the country. Furthermore, local shops are left behind in this growth path of market penetration because of their lack of versatility. The local shops have limited quantity and variety of products. Lack of business strategy and expansion mindset, upselling and cross selling is not viable for local shops. Hence, in another decade, the local shops will be completely disappear and we will not have access to traditionally made goods. And with no business in hand, local communities will migrate in search of other businesses or jobs. Thus, I believe, with limited variety and lack of business strategy and growth plan, it will be really tough for local shops to continue growing their business and sustaining the local communities.