Some people believe that natural ability is necessary to excel at sports. Others believe that hard work and practice is more important. Discuss both views and add your opinion.

The question of how to achieve success in sports is becoming increasingly controversial. While some people think that one has to have an innate ability to succeed at sports, others believe that one has to work hard and practise in order to excel at sports. This essay will discuss both sides of the argument and explain why I believe that hard work and practice is essential to be successful in sports. Some people believe that one has to possess an inborn ability to excel at sports. They have justifiable reason to believe this because certain sports require innate skills which cannot be acquired through hard work or practice. For example, studies have shown that people from certain tribes in Kenya are born with athletic skills so they can easily win races. These skills are hereditary. For this reason, these people believe that natural abilities are required to excel at sports. As opposed to the above-mentioned view, other people believe that with consistent practice and hard work, one can excel in sports and I agree. This is because a person is bound to fail, regardless of how talented he or she is, without consistent practice and hard work. Research has shown that children born with athletic skills tend to lose these skills in their teenage years if they do not include a regimen of consistent practice and hard work in their daily activities. The above-mentioned reason is why these people believe that hard work and practice is more important in succeeding in sports. In conclusion, despite the varying opinion of people, I believe that one has to consistently practise and work hard, rather than rely on natural abilities, in order to be successful in sports.